Guest Etiquette aka Please Get Out of My Way

Dear Guest,

At big weddings, years ago, when I first started doing wedding pictures, nobody else had a camera.  We used this funny thing you youngsters may not remember called “film” and it had to be “developed” so it took a couple of weeks before anybody saw any pictures from the wedding. There was no editing or face correcting or photoshop magic. So if you were having a bad hair day, there wasn’t much I could do about it. After what came to be called “processing and printing”, the bride and groom finally got their pictures.

The film I used was 120 mm with a film speed of 400 – which was very fast.  “Fast” meant that I could take a good photo in dim light.  Now, with “digital” cameras the speed can be set anywhere from 60 to 6,000 which allows me to take pictures practically in total darkness…..without a “flash.” Talk about magic…   

Throughout my years in the business, amateur cameras have gotten very good.  A cheap, generic camera today is much better than the best film camera forty years ago.  Cameras are so cheap and so good that nearly everybody has one!   And, they bring them to weddings! My profession that has put food on the table for years is now everyone’s so called “hobby!”  This world is definitely keeping me on my toes!

My main concern at weddings is capturing the right moments (the kiss, the cake cutting, the first dance, etc) and getting the right people with the bride and groom for a photograph (the godparents, the aunt who came from Spain, the favorite niece, etc.)   It’s about bringing these nitwits together for a photo whether they like it or not!  Now I may be old and not 100% sure how the whole facebook thing works but I know how to be in the right place at the right time and to correctly read the social situation to grab the right people to set them up for a photo.  

My BIGGEST pet peeve is when I put all this effort into creating a photo and someone with their slick digital camera hops in front of me!  JB is always telling me to be nice but PLEASE get out of my way!

I’m old. I’m grouchy. I’m paid to be there.  I’m a professional.  And I promise I’ll have JB put this photo on spacebook or facehead or whatever you call it so you can see it.

I’m all about guests having a grand time and getting some silly shots (especially after a few drinks), but there is definitely an element of respect when it comes to an old person and also the photographer!

Advice:  Grab a glass of champagne, give a great toast, go get your groove on, and please stay out of my way.

Sincerely,

Your Grouchy Old Photographer

 P.S.  I like to take pictures of other people taking pictures because I think it’s funny

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Guest Etiquette aka Please Get Out of My Way

  1. love it and so very true!

  2. Kerry Keisling

    Photography is like making love to a beautiful woman. It’s expensive, everyone thinks they can do it and it usually involves retouching.

  3. JB is great at putting photos on both spacebook AND facehead, it’s true!!

Leave a Reply

