Minnie Pearl and the Opry

My wife, Betty, is fromNashville…..I’ve told you that.  That was one reason I liked her.  She was from the home of the Grand Ole Opry.

Furthermore, she was kin to Sarah Cannon, better known as Minnie Pearl.  Sarah played bridge with Betty’s mother once a week and they were very close friends.

Sarah Canon......Minnie Pearl

Before our wedding, Sarah told me she was going to have a party for Betty and me.  Sarah said, “Now, Charles, I know you like all the Opry stuff.  Just tell me who you want to come to the party and I will see that they are there.”  I couldn’t believe it! 

 I made a list of people…..Hank Snow, Tennessee Ernie, Roy Acuff, Ernest Tubb, Red Foley, Little Jimmy Dickems and Hank Williams…….who could ask for more?  Those are the ones I can remember who came to the party.  I couldn’t sleep for days I was so excited!

 I remember that Hank Snow was a little short guy.  His wife was about a foot taller than he was.  And he wore a “toup” as Sarah called it.  He was bald headed and wore a toupee.

 Sarah Cannon’s husband, Henry, owned a charter airline service that flew starts around the country to play different shows.

Sarah, me and My son-in-law, Tom Thaddeus - 1988

Those were the days.  We went to the Grand Ole Opry a lot because Betty’s friend Tish owned Nation Life that sponsored the show.  We went behind the Opry to Tootsie’s Purple Orchid lounge to drink beer between acts.  That was great, too.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Minnie Pearl and the Opry

  1. No wonder Winfield and Betty get along so well. Hee Haw was one of Winfield’s favorite shows growing up. If I have to hear BR549 one more time….well, you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

